5 Non-Scandinavian Things I’ve Embraced In America

Food, of course, and sports

Melissa Frost
4 min readJan 20, 2024
Photo by Sara Melissa Frost

It could’ve been worse, I often tell myself whenever things get tough. Probably not the best approach to challenges according to experts and research, but it helps me. Instead of thinking of everything I dislike, I reflect on the good things in life.

Today, it looks like this:

Occasional confidence

Like many Scandinavians, I am not overly confident.

It stems from an unspoken law that’s deeply ingrained in people where I’m from — passed down generation after generation. Known as janteloven (law of Jante), Danish author Aksel Sandemose published a novel in 1933 where the famous “law” was printed. It all boils down to this: Don’t think you’re special. And don’t think you’re good at anything.

If you’re interested in hearing more about this confidence killer, I’ve dedicated an article to it here.

The moments I do feel confident, it doesn’t stem from my Norwegian background. This is all America and my supportive husband. For personal growth and self-esteem, I think it’s good to have a healthy dose of confidence.

I found that in the United States.

Snow days

--

--

Melissa Frost

Journalist. Mom. Wife. Norwegian in the U.S. Minimalist-ish.